blood orange and coconut marshmallows

by aspen&pine

marshmallows011

These marshmallows were pretty and delicious. The recipe I used is from the December issue of Bon Appetit magazine, and can be found here on their website. Next I want to try these rose water marshmallows created by Mimi Thorisson of Manger, my most favorite food blog ever!

It’s amazing to me how easy it was to make marshmallows. It sounds so complicated, but really it’s as simple as making a sugar syrup and mixing it with gelatin. Here are some pictures of how mine turned out:

marshmallows001

marshmallows002

marshmallows003

marshmallows007

marshmallows008

marshmallows009

My coconut layer didn’t turn out quite as fluffy as the orange one. I think this was because I let the sugar syrup go over the temperature it was supposed to be at.

marshmallows010

They look oh-so-pretty rolled in powdered sugar and placed in a glass dish!

 

 

